Amateur Championships

The British Amateur

Previously played at Carnoustie five times, the Amateur Championship is an event which has always attracted great interest within the local community, particularly as the Dalhousie Golf Club of Carnoustie was one of the original 24 subscribers who donated the trophy in 1886.

  • 2015– Romain Langasque
  • 1992 – Stephen Dundas
  • 1971 – Steve Melnyk
  • 1966 – Robert Cole
  • 1947 – William P Turnesa

2015 – R Langasque (France) bt G Forrest (Scotland) 4/2

Romain Langasque dominated the Final from the off and although Grant Forrest made a sterling effort to close the gap in the latter part of the 36 hole final he eventually ran out of holes allowing Langasque to close the match out on the tough par 3, 16th hole.

1992 – S Dundas (Scotland) bt B Dredge (Wales) 7/6

Stephen Dundas became the first Scottish winner for 35 years. He turned professional shortly after his victory and now works as Head professional with the Bernard Gallacher Golf Academy.

Bradley Dredge joined the European PGA Tour and has become one of the top players in Europe, winning his first event in 2003 at the Madeira Open.

1971 – S Melnyk (U.S.A.) bt J Simons (U.S.A.)

Steve Melnyk had already won the U.S. Amateur in 1969 and turned professional after winning at Carnoustie. An ankle injury cut short his professional career and today he commentates for the CBS television network.

Jim Simons also turned professional and won 3 times on the PGA tour. He now competes on the Champions tour.


1966 – R Cole (South Africa) bt R D B M Shade (Scotland) 3/2

(Final restricted to 18 holes due to mist during week)

Bobby Cole was only 18 when he won. He turned professional and came very close to winning a greater prize at Carnoustie when he missed out on the 1975 Open Championship by a single shot.

Ronnie Shade was Scotland’s finest ever amateur golfer. He won the Scottish Amateur in 1963, 1964., 1965, 1966 and 1967 and played in the Walker Cup teams of.1961, 1963, 1965 and 1967.

1947 – W P Turnesa bt R D Chapman 3/2

Willie “The Wedge” Turnesa also twice won the U.S. Amateur, and played in three U.S. Walker Cup teams, captaining in 1951.

Dick Chapman had one of the greatest ever amateur careers, winning the amateur championships of the United States, Great Britain, Canada, France and Italy. He played in 4 U.S. Walker cup teams and holds the Masters record for most consecutive starts by an amateur, with 17.

Boys Amateur

Now a major international amateur event, the Boys Championship was last played at Carnoustie in 2002. Carnoustie’s Lee Vannet won this event in 1984 at Royal Porthcawl following Jose Maria Olazabal as the champion. The 1933 event at Carnoustie was won by P B (Laddie) Lucas, war hero and Walker Cup player and captain.

  • 2002 – M Pilling bt R Davies at 37th
  • 1957 – D Ball bt J Wilson 2/1.
  • 1939 – S B Williamson bt K G Thom 4/2.
  • 1933 – P B Lucas bt W McLachlan 3/2.

Ladies British Amateur

First played in 1893, the Ladies British Amateur Championship has visited Carnoustie on three occasions, most recently in 2012.

In 1961 M Spearman won the first of two successive titles and in 1973 Ann Irvin denied Mickey Walker a hat-trick of wins.

  • 2012 – S Meadow bt R Sanchez Lobato 4/3
  • 1973 – A Irvin bt M Walker 3/2.
  • 1961 – M Spearman bt D J Robb 7/6.

Scottish Amateur

Scotlands’s most important amateur event, the Scottish Amateur Championship, has graced Carnoustie Links 10 times in all. Of the 8 winners, only one, F Gordon Dewar in 1952, has been a local player, although others have come close.

  • 2008 –C Macaulay bt S McEwan 5/3. Beaten semi finalists were G Paterson and G Yates
  • 1997 – C Hislop bt S Cairns 5/3. Beaten semi-finalists were S Tywnholm and D A Paton.
  • 1982 – C W Green bt G McGregor 1 hole. Beaten semi-finalists were C Elliot and A Moir.
  • 1973 – I C Hutcheon bt A Brodie 3/2. Beaten semi-finalists were D G Greig (Carnoustie) and A K Pirie.
  • 1967 – R D B M Shade bt A R Murphy 5/4. Beaten semi-finalists were A C Saddler and A K Pirie.
  • 1960 – J R Young bt A C Saddler 5/3. Beaten semi-finalists were H M Campbell and A M Deboys.
  • 1952 – F Gordon Dewar bt J C Wilson 4/3. Beaten semi-finalists were A McKinnon and R L Renfrew.
  • 1946 – E C Brown bt R Rutherford 3/2. Beaten semi-finalists were F.G. Dewar and J R Hosie (both Carnoustie).
  • 1936 – E D Hamilton bt R Neill jnr 1 hole. Beaten semi-finalists were J McLean and J Brodie.
  • 1930– K Greig bt T Wallace 9/8

Scottish Stroke Play

Played on 3 occasions over Carnoustie (twice shared with Monifieth), the Scottish Strokeplay Championship has risen in stature over the years and is now regarded as one of the foremost strokeplay events in the UK calendar.

  • 1986 – K H Walker – 289
  • 1976 – S Martin – 299
  • 1969 – J S McDonald – 288

Scottish Ladies Close Amateur

Held at Carnoustie 5 times, the Scottish Ladies has provided much memorable golf over the Championship course. Perhaps the highlight was in 1980 when the legendary I C “Belle” Robertson won the sixth of her seven Scottish titles, beating Fiona Anderson by one hole.

Belle Robertson has the finest amateur record of any Scottish lady golfer. She was Scottish champion seven times.

  • 2001 – L Morton bt L Mackay 6 and 4.
  • 1991 – C Lambert bt F Anderson 3 and 2.
  • 1980 – I C Robertson bt F Anderson 1 hole.
  • 1968 – J Smith bt J Rennie 10 and 9.
  • 1953 – G Valentine bt J Donald 8 and 7.